Past talks

Below you can find the talks which were given in the past.

Michaelmas Term 2021

Tuesday, 5 October 2021

Jacqueline Almeida Toribio (University of Texas) – On the uniqueness of Dominican Spanish

______

Tuesday, 12 October 2021

Jelena Zivojinovic (University of Verona) – The use of gerund in Rhaeto-Romance: a diachronic perspective

______

Monday, 18 October 2021

Francisco Ordoñez (Stony Brook University) – Inalienable Location in Catalan and Spanish (joint work with Olga Fernández Soriano)

______

Tuesday, 26 October 2021

Christine Meklenborg-Nilsen (University of Oslo) – Topicalisation strategies in Old French

______

Tuesday, 2 November 2021

Stefano Freyr Castiglione (University College London) – Italian Right Dislocation is Biclausal: An Argument from Binding

______

Tuesday, 9 November 2021

Giuliana Giusti (University Ca’ Foscari of Venice) – Protocol Linguistics: from theory to empirical advancements back to theory again

______

Tuesday, 16 November 2021

Federica Breimaier (University of Zurich) – When the field moves online: a three-step approach to collect and analyze crowdsourced dialect data

______

Tuesday, 23 November 2021

Valentina Colasanti (Trinity College Dublin) – Spatial and discourse deixis and the interactional structure of nominals

______

Tuesday, 30 November 2021

Adina Dragomirescu (‘Iorgu Iordan – Alexandru Rosetti’ Institute of Linguistics/University of Bucharest) – Word order in Istro-Romanian. New data

______

Tuesday, 7 December 2021

Martin Maiden (University of Oxford) – Putting standard Romance languages in their place: two examples of misleading “standard language bias” in the historical morphology of Romanian

Lent Term 2022

Tuesday, 18 January 2022

Diego Pescarini (Université Côte d’Azur and Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique) – Microvariation and statistical hypothesis testing: negation and negative concord in northern Italo-Romance

______

Tuesday, 25 January 2022

Virginia Hill (University of New Brunswick) – AUX cliticisation and loss of SVO in Romanian

______

Tuesday, 8 February 2022

Javier Ormazabal Zamakona (University of the Basque Country) – All that glitters is not syntaX: agreement and the notion of default value (joint work with Juan Romero)

______

Tuesday, 15 February 2022

Michele Loporcaro (University of Zurich) – Nouns as agreeement targets in Romance

______

Tuesday, 22 February 2022

Ian MacKenzie (University of Newcastle) – True versus accidental V2 in Old Spanish

______

Tuesday, 1 March 2022

Richard Kayne (New York University) – Hypercomplex Inversion and the Status of Expletive Pronouns

______

Tuesday, 8 March 2022

Ana Lúcia Santos (University of Lisbon) – Control and inflected infinitives

______

Tuesday, 15 March 2022

Heloisa Salles (University of Brasilia) & Maria Aparecida Torres Morais (University of São Paulo) – The pronominal realization of indirect objects in ditransitive constructions: the case of Dialectal and Standard Brazilian Portuguese

______

Tuesday, 22 March 2022

John Charles Smith (Oxford University) – Defining Romance periphrases: paradigms and grammaticalization

***

Michaelmas Term 2020

Friday, 9 October 2020

Ionuț Geană (Arizona State University & ‘Iorgu Iordan – Alexandru Rosetti’ Institute of Linguistics) – The Morphosyntax of Istro-Romanian DPs

______

Thursday, 15 October 2020

Larisa Nicolaie (University of Bucharest) – An acoustic analysis of the /ij/ diphthong in Standard Daco-Romanian

______

Thursday, 22 October 2020

Francisco Javier Calvo del Olmo (Universidade Federal do Paraná) – Intercomprehension between Romance Languages: a key for plurilingual education

______

Thursday, 29 October 2020

Giuseppina Silvestri (UCLA) – Lost voices: sociolinguistic observations on the epistemic future in two varieties of the same dialect

______

Thursday, 5 November 2020

Nicola Swinburne (University of Oxford) – The grammaticalization of ‘do’-support in the northern Italian Camuno dialect

______

Thursday, 12 November 2020

Alice Corr (University of Birmingham) – Romance vocatives and the topological mapping of deviance

______

Thursday, 19 November 2020

Sam Wolfe (University of Oxford) – A Fresh Look at Old Italo-Romance ‘Si’

______

Thursday, 3 December 2020

Silvia Terenghi (Utrecht University) – Demonstrative systems in Portuguese-based creoles: Some markedness considerations

Lent Term 2021 (joint seminars with RoLO)

Tuesday, 2 February 2021

Laura Migliori (Universiteit Leiden) – Purpose Prepositional Infinitives in Romance: properties and emergence

______

Tuesday, 9 February 2021

Alberto Frasson (Utrecht University) – Interface properties of subject clitics: a study on antecedent selection

______

Tuesday, 16 February 2021

Paul O’Neill (University of Sheffield) – The boundary between morphology and phonology and the concept of morphologization

______

Tuesday, 23 February 2021

Jan Casalicchio (Università di Palermo) & Peter Herbeck (Universität Wien) – The structure of Pseudo-relatives in Spanish. A preliminary account

______

Tuesday, 2 March 2021

Jan Casalicchio (Università di Palermo) & Michelle Sheehan (Anglia Ruskin University) – Long passives of causatives and perception verbs in Italian: implications for phase theory

______

Tuesday, 9 March 2021

Andrés Saab (IIF-SADAF-CONICET & Universidad de Buenos Aires) – From free pronouns to probes. A theory for a subset of Spanish clitics

______

Tuesday, 16 March 2021

Caterina Bonan (University of Cambridge) – Low focus movement in Romance

Easter Term 2021

Tuesday, 4 May 2021

Clara Cuonzo (University of Maryland) – Expressive adjectives in Romance: a comparative study

______

Tuesday, 11 May 2021

Silvio Cruschina (University of Helsinki) – Ignorance and competence in polar questions: Discourse particles in Sicilian

______

Tuesday, 18 May 2021

Luana Sorgini (Universiteit Utrecht) – A tripartite analysis of DOM. Evidence from Friulian varieties

______

Tuesday, 25 May 2021

Ioana Aminian Jazi (Austrian Academy of Sciences, Vienna) – The Boyash in Hungary. A sociolinguistic outline of two (Romanian) vernaculars in decline

______

Tuesday, 1 June 2021

Alessandro De Angelis (Università di Messina) – Sulla genesi del vocalismo “siciliano”

______

Tuesday, 8 June 2021

Nigel Vincent (University of Manchester) – Suppletion is not silence

______

Tuesday, 15 June 2021

Delia Bentley (University of Manchester) – Two types of external causation and the causative alternation in Romance

______

Tuesday, 22 June 2021

Onkar Singh & Stefania Costea (University of Cambridge) – V2 reconsidered: a comparative analysis of verb-participle inversion in old Daco- and (old) Italo-Romance